GLAA Action Alert on Megan's Law
Related Links

Talking Points on Megan's Law Bill 11/28/99

GLAA, Allies Push Essential Amendments to Megan's Law Bill 11/28/99

Public Defender Service: FAQs on Megan's Law 11/23/99

Howell Testifies on D.C. Megan's Law Bill 10/14/99

Howell Objects to Narrow Time Limits on Megan's Law Testimony 08/23/99

Howell, Rosendall lobby against "emergency" sex offender legislation 07/06/99

Howell writes Councilmembers on Megan's Law bill 07/02/99

GLAA Testifies on Sex Offenders Registration Legislation 06/29/99

U.S. Justice Dept.: Final Guidelines for the Jacob Wetterling Crimes Against Children and Sexually Violent Offender Registration Act 01/05/99

PDF version of the above document 01/05/99

GLAA Action Alert on Megan's Law

Sunday, November 28, 1999

Dear Friends —

On Tuesday, December 7, the D.C. Council will consider the "Sex Offender Registration Act of 1999," Bill 13-350, sponsored by Councilmember Harold Brazil, chairman of the Council Judiciary Committee. (Such bills are colloquially known around the country as "Megan's Law.")

This legislation has several serious defects that need to be remedied. Councilmembers Jim Graham and Jack Evans will be offering amendments to fix these problems. GLAA, the American Civil Liberties Union, and the Public Defender Service are lobbying the other Councilmembers in the next week on behalf of these reforms. We can use your active support in our efforts.

Attached [see Related Links box] is a summary of the talking points about our proposed amendments. Please take the time to familiarize yourself with the issues and then contact your own Councilmembers by letter, phone, or e-mail. Information on contacting the Council is also attached [see below]. If you get any feedback from the Councilmembers or their staffs as a result of your own efforts, please keep us informed; our email is equal@glaa.org.

This is a battle we should not have to be waging in a supposedly pro-gay city. Nevertheless, much damage could be done to our community if Bill 13-350 is passed in its present form, and we must do what we can to avert future problems.

Sincerely,

Craig Howell
President
Gay and Lesbian Activists Alliance


Contact Information:

Council of the District of Columbia
441 4th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20001

The following councilmembers need to be contacted:

Linda Cropp (Chairman, D)
Room 704
(202)724-8032 (voice)
(202)724-8085 (fax)
Email: lcropp@dccouncil.washington.dc.us

Carol Schwartz (R-At-Large)
Room 706
(202)724-8105 (voice)
(202)724-8071 (fax)
Email: schwartzc@dccouncil.washington.dc.us

David A. Catania (R-At-Large)
Room 712
(202)724-7772 (voice)
(202)724-8087 (fax)
Email: dcatania@dccouncil.washington.dc.us

Phil Mendelson (D-At-Large)
Room 720
(202)724-8064 (voice)
(202)724-8099 (fax)
Email: pmendelson@dccouncil.washington.dc.us

Kathy Patterson (D-Ward 3)
Room 709
(202)724-8062 (voice)
(202)724-8118 (fax)
Email: kpatterson@dccouncil.washington.dc.us

Charlene Drew Jarvis (D-Chairman Pro Tempore-Ward 4)
Room 708
(202)724-8052 (voice)
(202)724-8120 (fax)
Email: cdjarvis@dccouncil.washington.dc.us

Vincent B. Orange, Sr. (D-Ward 5)
Room 702
(202)724-8028 (voice)
(202)724-8076 (fax)
Email: vorange@dccouncil.washington.dc.us

Sharon Ambrose (D-Ward 6)
Room 710
(202)724-8072 (voice)
(202)724-8054 (fax)
Email: sambrose@dccouncil.washington.dc.us

Kevin P. Chavous (D-Ward 7)
Room 705
(202)724-8068 (voice)
(202)724-8097 (fax)
Email: kpchavous@dccouncil.washington.dc.us

Sandy (Sandra) Allen (D-Ward 8)
Room 707
(202)724-8045 (voice)
(202)724-8055 (fax)
Email: cmallen@dccouncil.washington.dc.us


...and you can thank the following councilmembers for their leadership on this issue:

Jim Graham (D-Ward 1)
Room 718
(202)724-8181 (voice)
(202)724-8109 (fax)
Email: jgraham@dccouncil.washington.dc.us

Jack Evans (D-Ward 2)
Room 703
(202)724-8058 (voice)
(202)724-8023 (fax)
Email: jackevans@dccouncil.washington.dc.us


pageok